The 2024 General Election is the first to be held since the Isle of Wight was split into 2 new constituencies; Isle of Wight East and Isle of Wight West. It means that 2 MPs will represent the Island in Parliament to fight on behalf of Islanders.

It took some time for the boundaries to be agreed upon by The Boundary Commission, with earlier submissions including one put forward by Labour that split the Island vertically in 2 in a north/south divide. But that was thrown out as it split Newport – the county town – in half.

Other proposed ideas sought to split Ventnor from fellow seaside towns Shanklin and Sandown but the decision was made that due to their close economic and social links, they should remain together. East Cowes was originally split from Cowes and was in the Isle of Wight East Constituency. The final decision – which is outlined on the map below – was confirmed back in July 2023.

Isle of Wight East consists of major towns like Ryde, Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor with towns like Newport, Cowes and East Cowes in the Isle of Wight West.

There will be a total of 20 wards in the Isle of Wight East Constituency which has an electorate of 56,805. In the Isle of Wight West, there are a total of 19 wards and an electorate of 54,911.

Privacy Preferences

When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in the form of cookies. Here you can change your Privacy preferences. It is worth noting that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we are able to offer.

Click to enable/disable Google Analytics tracking code.
Click to enable/disable Google Fonts.
Click to enable/disable Google Maps.
Click to enable/disable video embeds.
Our website uses cookies, mainly from 3rd party services. Define your Privacy Preferences and/or agree to our use of cookies.